Skip to content

“I am excited to announce my candidacy for the Alameda County School Board District 7.”


I am a 40-year veteran public school teacher, former Pleasanton Councilmember, and a civic education activist. I hold an M.A. in History emphasizing the Constitution. I have lived and worked my entire life in this part of Alameda County teaching in the community where I grew up. I have four children who attended schools in Sunol, Livermore and Pleasanton.
I was a member of the State K-12 Civic Education Task Force and iCivics Teacher Advisory Boards and serve on the Center for Civic Education National Board. In these capacities and others, I have worked for children and teachers supporting quality programs and legislative outcomes across the nation and here in our local community. I was honored to be recognized nationally with the American Civic Education Teacher Award.
My focus as a board member will be to promote and encourage legislative agendas that support teachers and students in our county. My skills combined with local and state-level experience make me uniquely qualified to increase support from the county office to those we serve to ensure equity for all. Public service is my calling. I humbly ask you to join the California Teachers Association, Superintendent Tony Thurmond, and dozens of others and cast your vote for Cheryl Cook-Kallio for Alameda County School Board.

About Cheryl

Cheryl Cook-Kallio has a long history of public service and volunteerism. She has an M.A. in History with an emphasis on the United States Constitution that she earned from San Jose State University as a James Madison Fellow, CA ’97. She has served Senator Feinstein and a Madison Congressional Fellow in 2002 and served the Federal Courts in D.C. as a Madison Fellow in 2005. She also is a member of the California State K-12 Civic Education Task Force Advisory Board.

Cheryl served as a board member for the Pleasanton Partnership in Education Foundation, and as a member of the CA Civic Learning Task Force Advisory Board and a member of the Teacher Advisory Board for Justice Sandra Day O’Connor’s iCivics Foundation.

She is a 40-year veteran teacher specializing in high-school civics. She received the American Civic Education Teacher Award in 2008, one of only three in the nation. Cheryl has been honored by the Fremont Education Foundation for Excellence in Education in 2006, Citizen of the Year 2006 by Majority Leader Alberto Torrico, Irvington High School’s Teacher of the Year 2005, Woman of the Year 2004 by State Senator Liz Figueroa, Teacher of the Year by the Sons of the American Revolution 1997. In 1997, Cheryl was also awarded a James Madison Memorial Foundation Fellowship, a prestigious merit scholarship awarded to only one teacher per state each year to pursue a master’s degree with an emphasis on the United States Constitution.

Cheryl also served on the city council of Pleasanton, California from 2006 through 2014. She is currently serving as state coordinator for the We the People/Project Citizen Programs provided by the Center for Civic Education.


About the District

The district encompasses Sunol, Pleasanton Livermore, Dublin and unicorporated to the San Joaquin county line. (Includes Mountain House Elementary School District)

Cheryl’s Endorsements


Federal and State Officials

Congressmember Eric Swalwell
Congressmember Ro Khanna
Attorney General Rob Bonta
State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond
Former State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
Former State Superintendent of Public Instruction Delaine Eastin
Assemblymember Bill Quirk
Former Assemblymember Joan Buchanan

Alameda County Officials

Alameda County Assessor Phong La
Alameda County Supervisor Richard Valle
Alameda Co. Office of Ed Board President Aisha Knowles
Alameda Co. Office of Ed Board Vice President Eileen McDonald
Alameda Co. Office of Ed Board Member Angela Normand
Alameda Co. Office of Ed Board Member Joaquin Rivera
Solano Co. Board of Ed Trustee/CCBA Regional Director Dana Dean
Chabot-Las Positas Comm. Coll. Dist. Board of Trustees Pres. Tim Sbranti
Chabot-Las Positas Comm. Coll. Dist. Trustee Harris Mojadedi
Ohlome College Board Trustee Lance Kwon
Zone 7 Board President Angela Ramirez Holmes
Zone 7 Board Member Olivia Sanwong

Mayors and City Councilmembers

Pleasanton Mayor Jennifer Hosterman (ret.)
Pleasanton City Councilmember Kathy Narum
Pleasanton City Councilmember Jack Balch
Pleasanton City Councilmember Jerry Pentin (ret.)
Pleasanton City Councilmember Becky Dennis (ret.)
Livemore City Councilmember Brittni Kiick
Dublin Councilmember Shawn Kumagai
Hayward Citycouncilmember Aisha Wahab
San Leandro Councilmember Corina Lopez
Fremont Vice Mayor Raj Salwan

School Board Trustees and Board Members

Pleasanton Superintendent of School David Hagland
President Livermore School Board Trustee Craig Bueno
Livermore School Board Trustee Kristie Wang
Livermore School Board Trustee Yanira Guzman
Dublin School Board Trustee Vice President Kristin Pelham
Dublin School Board Trustee Megan Rouse
Livermore School Board Trustee Kate Runyon (ret.)
Pleasanton School Board President Mark Miller
Pleasanton School Board Vice President Steve Mahr
Pleasanton School Board Member Joan Laursen
Former Fremont School Board Member Peggy Herndon
Former Fremont school Board Member Lara Calvert
President San Leandro School Board James Agular
San Leandro Trustee Louis Heystek (ret.)

Community Leaders, Teachers, Students and Residents

Center for Civic Education Chair Pauline Weaver
Ventura County Supervisor CCE Bd Member Carmen Ramirez
CADEMS Children’s Caucus Chair Ann Crosbie
Alameda Comm. on the Status of Women Vice Chair Martha Kreager
Alameda County Planning Commissioner Andy Kelly
Muslim Democratic Club Moina Shaiq
Teacher/NEA Director Roberta Kreitz SPED
Vice Principal LVJUSD David Martinez
District Administrator Sarah Smoot Barrious
Educator Muslim Democratic Club Moina Shaiq
School Principal (ret.) Bill Radulovich
We the People Teacher Jeremy Detamore
We the People Teacher Graham McBride
We the People Teacher Stacey Sklar
Teacher Catherine Dinh Martinez
Teacher Allyson McAuley
Teacher (ret.) Becky Radulovich
Teacher (ret.) Peggy Carpenter
Teacher (ret.) Christine Bourg
Teacher (ret.) Brian Bourg
Teacher/Union Leader (ret.) Cate Sarreille
Educator (ret.) Kelly Essary
Educator (ret.) Helen Machuga
Educator (ret.) Joan Tenbrink
Teacher Jill Weaver
Teacher Sam Weaver
Student FHS WTP Alum Joseph Mauro
Parag Vaishampayan, Hindu Education Foundation
Vasanth Shetty, Hindu Education Foundation
Shubhangi Kadhe, Hindu Education Foundation
Patrick McMenamin, CA Dept of Education (ret.)
Teacher Clint Johns
Teacher Anne Chung
Kathy Coyle
Jocelyn Combs
Susanna Chau
Sharon Piekarski
John J. Dutra

Partial List-title for identification purposes only

What’s Happening!

[efb_feed fanpage_id=”CherylCookKallio” type=”page” words_limit=”20″ post_limit=”7″ skin_id=”31″ cache_unit=”1″ cache_duration=”days” live_stream_only=”0″ load_more=”0″ links_new_tab=”1″ show_like_box=”1″]